In January 1981 at the Richmond Hotel in Southport a group of Morris Minor enthusiasts got together to form the West Lancs Branch MMOC. John Wells was Chairman, Tony Seed Treasurer and Dorothy Wilkinson Secretary. Subsequently in March 1981 the venue was changed to the Ley Inn, Leyland and it was decided that the name of the branch should be changed to "Lancashire Branch".
Members still with us today who were on the membership list in March 1981 include John Wells, Tony Seed and John Hardman. 
In the Club rules from that period it was stated that "Members and visitors shall be invited to subscribe not less than 20p for Branch Meetings to meet Branch expenses".
Over the following years many members have represented the branch at all kinds of events including the National Rally, Minors on Tour (MoT) held in France each year, The Lord Mayors Show in London, our own Branch Rallies and other Branch Events.
Today, monthly meetings are held at the Fox Lane Sports and Social Club, Leyland. Here we have guests speakers, quiz nights and our "Bring Your Car Night".
We have over the years developed a close relationship with our sister Club, North East Lancs Branch and in 2008, the Diamond Jubilee Year of the MMOC, the two clubs jointly raised around £4000 for Marie Curie Cancer Care with the sale of their "WI Type Calendar".
One of our popular innovations has been the introduction of a monthly 'Mechanic's Day' when we meet up and members bring their Minors in to do repairs or servicing.
We are lucky at Lancashire Branch to still be able to get the wisdom and stories of the founder members of the Branch as well as having an influx of younger and more recent enthusiasts of the Moggie.
The Branch has a very strong Committee and members of the branch are all very eager to help in any way.

Morris Minor